best hatchery to purchase dark cornish?

taxidermist

Chirping
5 Years
Mar 16, 2014
hello I posted this question under a different category and did not receive any answers so I figured a good place to start would be here. I am looking to start a small backyard flock and I would like to add some dark Cornish chickens. What is the best hatchery to order from? I don't expect show quality birds but would still like some attractive birds. I would like to keep some on hand to raise for meat and I like that they are a hardy breed that are good foragers and mothers. Ive read that Mcmurray hatchery's birds are good layers but are small? Maybe this was someone's opinion? I've read that ideal and cackle have nice large birds but I have no experience with hatchery's or this breed. Any input is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Hey taxidermist.
well I have been lurking around this forum for about 3 years and read you post and I had to register to reply, so here goes. Last year I ordered 5 Dark Cornish roosters and 12 White Rock hens to breed together in an attempt to raise my own cross for meat. the reason for 5 roosters was to pick the best one of the five for breeder stock. I ordered them from Cackle hatchery and I am very pleased with the birds, both the Rocks and the Dark Cornish for the most part turned out to be big birds. I butchered 4 of the roosters this past Saturday and they were fully filled out,( I didn't weigh them ) they looked just like the Cornish x meat birds that I have raised in the past except they were 8 months old. I will be putting eggs in the incubator in about 2 weeks from now to make sure the eggs will be fertilized buy the rooster that I kept. Hope this helps you decide where you get them from, Cackle Hatchery were great to deal with and I will be using them again.

I know this is an older thread, but I have to say I'm totally happy with the 13 Dark Cornish that I got from McMurray.