Best of three- Black Ameraucana Rooster

hebertchick12

Chirping
5 Years
Jul 2, 2014
Raceland, LA
I'm a newbie to breeding pure ameraucanas. I have a blue wheaten rooster with a mixed flock. We have been hatching and selling EEs for about a year. The EEs and Ameraucanas are our favorite breed. I got my hands on some lavender ameraucana pullets so I want to try my hand at breeding these to a black to better the quality of the feathers from the lavenders

I found three black ameraucana roosters to choose from to purchase. Just not sure which would be best.

#1- from the seller "I hatched him in early April from a show breeder in TX, he has one light feather on one wing but otherwise he is decent." This one is only four months old, same age as my pullets.

#2- only picture willing to send. Has many to choose from. "came from old Toxaway farm which has some of Paul smith line along with some others."

#3 This one is the most expensive and furthest from me... and I have to purchase as a quad of Rooster, Hen, and two 4 month old pullets. "These birds came from the best in show winning breeding pens of Paul Smith."

PLEASE HELP me pick one! LOL I would love to know your thoughts.

I'll start by saying that I know nothing about Ameraucanas. This is just a general comment about purchasing poultry.

If someone wants you to buy a purebred cockerel/cock with the intention to make him your foundation flock sire, they need to be willing to send you individual pictures. To send you a flock picture that shows nothing of their conformation, along with a statement that is casual about the bird's genetics and lines, basically telling you that there has been no breeding selection practiced, is not someone that I would buy from. So I wouldn't even consider buying from #2.