Black Australorp Eggs - Late Hatch?

kalyssia

Hatching
Mar 20, 2024
Help!
This is my first time incubating chicks and I don't know if my eggs are still going to hatch?
I bought 10x black australorp eggs on 25/02/24 from a breeder. She mentioned that some had been chilled so I left them at room temp for 24 hours before setting them in the incubator (which is a homemade one out of a 60L storage bin, hrygometer, heat lamp and moist sponge. I should add that I drilled ventilation holes in the plastic storage bin as it was building a lot of condensation. Not too many though.)
I had this set up and turned on for about 3 hours before setting the eggs so do I count from 26/02 or is it really 27/02 as it takes a while for things to settle in the incubator?
Things seemed to go okay throughout the incubation period but I am a first timer. The eggs are white but I had difficulty candling them and recognising the development. They were turned 3-5 daily, at 37degrees and 60% humidity up until lock down which I did on 17/03/2024 (36degrees and 70% humidity).
This is where I have gotten myself into a pickle and need help!!!
I thought they were supposed to hatch/ starting pipping 18/03/24? Or is it 19/03/24?
Either way nothing has happened and I have found myself constantly checking and fussing/ playing them youtube clips of baby chicks chirping in the hopes I could encourage some activity 😆
Yesterday 20/03/24 I did some google research on the float test and tried it with 4 of the 10 eggs. All 4 seemed viable i.e. 80% under water (which was tested with a thermometer at 37degrees) and about 20% above.
Because a couple of them worked I put them back and didn't disturb the rest. Thought I felt one moving inside the shell when drying it off to put back.
21/03 still nothing. I could see air sacs in the 4 that were float tested but didn't handle them long enough to look for movement or internal pipping.

Need some advice please....