Brick Coop

Crazyoop

Hatching
10 Years
Apr 24, 2009
St Helens, UK
Is it a bad idea to build a coop out of brick? I am new to this chicken lark and i have become paranoid about Lice, flees, Red mites or any other creepy crawly that might take a fancy to my girls while their in their coop,
Seeing that timber seems to be the favourite hiding place for all things crawly could i use bricks and mortar? Does anybody have any suggestions

I see absolutely no reason why you couldn't. You're going to have to plan it out well ahead of time, since it's easier to saw through lumber than brick
wink.png
Make sure you plan in plenty of ventilation.

Brick is not only expensive to use as a structural material, but requires a good bit of know-how and experience to make SAFE walls more than about 2' tall. Also, the rough surfaces could probably harbor pests at least as well as a nice smooth *plywood* coop interior. Also also, brick has high thermal inertia and will get hot by the end of the day and stay hot well into the night, in summer, and be a very cold material in winter.

Thus I would strongly suggest you not try building a brick coop.

What is wrong with a plain old wooden coop, with a plywood interior, like everyone else has?
tongue.png
They WORK. With good animal husbandry you will not have a pest problem -- and with poor animal husbandry you'll have a problem even with a coop built of any other material.

Honest, it is not a big deal. Deep breath
smile.png

Good luck, have fun,

Pat

Quote:
no, you would however need to clearly annunciate when speaking of your "brick chic house".
big_smile.png

really, if i had the skills i would have made mine to match the brick on our house. i love consistancy. it's a little tougher to attach things but if you plan it out you should be fine.

Last edited:
Does ANYBODY here really count how much it costs?
gig.gif