Can tiny chicks eat an "All Flock" feed?

CrazedCowgirl

Chirping
Jan 17, 2016
Eugene Oregon
I'm still new to chickens and my husband just ordered me 10 new chicks that will be delivered next week. I currently have 5 hens all on Nutrena's Feather Fixer but I throw a handful or two of All Flock out in the yard since I also have a couple ducks.

Question: Will I need to buy chick starter again or can I feed them my All Flock?

I think my husband is getting a little tired of all the chicken feed taking up room in my garage. LOL Between the chicken feed and dog food, we have 5-50 gal garbage cans in the garage that all hold feed or scratch.

All Flock is normally 20% protein with calcium somewhere around 1%, very similar to Chick Starter. Nutritionally it will be fine. If it is in pellet form you might need to crush it to get it to a size they can eat it. A food processor or blender work fine to reduce the size but it might scratch the plastic tub.

I feed Flock Raiser to all my birds, with extra calcium on the side. It's crumble, and fine for all your chickens of any age. EXCEPT if you need to feed your young chicks a medicated chick starter for eight weeks or so to manage coccidiosis. Some places will have a big problem with chick illness/ deaths without amprolium in the chick starter, other places won't. When in doubt, it's safest to give the babies the medicated feed. Mary

I have little Belgian d'Uccle chicks every year, both broody and brooder raised, and they handle the Flock Raiser from day one. No idea about Serama chicks, though. One year I weighed some three day old Belgian d'Uccle chicks; 2 grams each! Mary

Hi.
frow.gif

I'm with everybody here, feed the all flock. Crush a little if you want. To me shipped chicks have a harder time. I would also feed them a boiled smashed egg right away as well as offer electrolytes to help with a speedy recovery.