Chickens and Dogs got photos?

dlongterry

In the Brooder
6 Years
I would REALLY love to see your photos of your chickens and dogs together. I am needing photos for my blog ( I am new to the blog world :) and FB page. I am currently training several dogs with chickens and I get asked the question daily if they can live together ( I am a dog trainer and behaviorist. I will soon be having a photo contest with a great prize package so if you send me any I will make sure they are in the contest! I am currently running a giveaway for a custom dog collar with cute chickens on it so feel free to enter.

Thanks!
Dana
https://www.facebook.com/LayingHensAndCanineFriends

www.LayingHensAndCanineFriends.com

Not to be morbid, but I also am in need of some not so pretty photos of dogs and chickens - you can email photos to [email protected]

I can get you some photos. We have two red Australian Cattle dogs, Rocky and Ringo, who like to 'herd' our flock. When we first introduced the dogs to the chickens there were a few incidents of the dogs going after the birds as if to kill, but now the dogs seem to like having a job to do in looking after our flock. We let the chickens free-range, and one day while we were out a fox came into the yard and I got home just in time to see it running up the tree line with one of our chickens. Ever since, we barely let the flock out without one of the dogs being in the yard with them. We waited a few months before trying to let them out on their own again, but as soon as we did, that fox came back and got another one of our girls. The next day we had the dogs out with them again. Rocky disappeared, we yelled for him for about five minutes, before he came back with the chicken the fox had killed the day before. He put her little body right in front of the ramp up to the coop as if waiting for her to go in.