Chickens holding heads in floor and wobbling

Tom conway

Chirping
5 Years
Aug 18, 2014
Shropshire, UK

Help,
My tolbunt polish hen and cockerel have both got there heads hanging on the floor but are both standing, it's as if they can't lift there head at all. They just stand there wobbling but not doing anything. There 10 altogether in the same pen but non of the others are looking like it at all. They were fine last night but this morning like this. I will put a picture on in a second. Please help

Last edited:
Ok Im not an expert but I wonder if inner ear infection I recently saw a kiwi on the new with a head tilt upside down so could be something similar was inner ear infection it healed with antibiotics and steroids.
Maybe best to separate incase of disease and to stop them being picked on and maybe get to a vet for treatment. I think ear mites can cause ear infections so maybe some Ivomec treatment and have heard using Hydrogen peroxide to clean the ear not sure how easy to do.
Hopefully someone else has some idea,
Keep us posted how they get on I hope you can get them sorted, If its mites I would Ivomec the flock and check hen house incase mites in there too.
Goodluck

Okay thank you, I think I will take them to the vets to see what they think, I will check there ears over now and there houses just incase it is mites then I will have a go treating them myself. Yeah probably best to separate them just incase.
Thanks for helping so soon

That's ok just wanted to help
I think the hydrogen peroxide you flush the ears with it like in a syringe when I googled came up on this forum so do a search for more info
Worth a try and then vets
I hope they improve look like lovely hens!
found this in my search
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawg53