Crest Feather Colors?

@KsKingBee do you think it's possible that either of the parents of the chick might have been carrying a single pied gene that wasn't being expressed? Do you have information on the grandparents? Thanks for adding the background info
smile.png

I wish I could tell you for certain, the guy I bought them from had a lot of stories for the same question if you know what I mean... The only thing I am certain of is that there is a LOT of genetic diversity in his stock. So yes, there is a very good chance that there is something lurking in their genetic background that is not necessarily outwardly expressed.

I studied all of my birds when feeding them this morning and found that there are no others with the same split colored crests other than the Cameos that have a range of brown and tan colors and the IB hens that show both brown and green. My white eyed trio of siblings do not have any white crest feathers, and my pied IB cock does not have any white either. Sadly my only pied IB hen does not have any crest feathers at all, never did since I got her. She must have been picked on for so long that they just don't grow back. None of my chicks or my IBBS/WE have any white crest feathers either other than the whites and Nanu the IBSP from DylansMom.

I wish I could tell you for certain, the guy I bought them from had a lot of stories for the same question if you know what I mean... The only thing I am certain of is that there is a LOT of genetic diversity in his stock. So yes, there is a very good chance that there is something lurking in their genetic background that is not necessarily outwardly expressed.