Dearborn Chickens

chickenlady241

Hatching
Apr 29, 2020
I've just been notified that I have 4 days to remove my birds then I am doing my research and find on here michigan RTF laws. I call the local RTF office and they say they can't offer an explanation of if I'm "within my rights" without an inspection. I'm not sure the Animal Control is going to be cool about waiting for RTF. Dearborn has a permit requirement for having a few backyard chickens however they refuse to issue permits don't even accept applications which seems in clear violation of RTF..

Following. I am from Fairfield Ohio and we are just starting to try to get chickens here. So I am interested in seeing what happens there. However, I believe that if there is a permit application it should be online as well and you could print it from there. Maybe, but then again I am new to the whole idea that they can even tell me I can't have 4 chickens..opps. Stepping of soapbox. :)

There's been no permits issued in Dearborn as far as I know the last case was in 2009 a woman was told her permit was denied for her chickens and she had to get rid of her ten. I'm excited to see where it goes too. There is no online permit application online here but in neighboring cities like Ann Arbor things are really smooth, I know a few people with chickens.

It may also mean that she quickly found out she didn't have a clue.

"Michigan Right to Farm Act" It doesn't mean what a lot of people assume it means, based on the title. That's true in virtually every state that has a "Right to Farm Act". They exist to protect ongoing, scale, farming operations from ruinous lawsuits grounded in Nuisance law, and generally do NOT apply to backyard chicken keeping, much less new backyard chicken keeping.

They might also find this opinion instructive.

A good site for MI "farmers".

The important question most BY owners forget is the very first one. "IS IT A FARM"? If the answer is "no", Full Stop. Inapplicable. Move on.

[Emphasis mine]