Didn't Get My Roos?? What should I do?

rfreedlund

Chirping
5 Years
Apr 7, 2014
Byron, Illinois
My chickens are now 23 weeks old and I got 24 eggs today with a grand total of 257 eggs since they started laying a little over a month ago. I am pretty pleased with my flock so far.

This is my first time raising chickens myself (I had helped my parents in the past) and I wanted to go with a bigger flock than they ever had, more than one breed for variety in chickens and eggs, and most importantly procreation capability so that I could attempt to hatch some of my own next spring.

So through the local Farm & Fleet I bought 50 chicks. I only lost two and the remaining 48 are currently thriving. However, of the 50, I specifically ordered 5 Black Australorp cockerel chicks to grow along side all of the girls and to take care of the mating duties for possible hatches in the spring. However...

I THINK I GOT ALL GIRLS!!!!???

It's 23 weeks now and none of them look like a rooster and none are displaying rooster behavior. Everything I have read says I should have been able to tell by now. There have been no attempts at crowing. I have seen no attempts at mating. I have seen no out of the ordinary aggression between birds and all of my Australorps look pretty close to the same in comb and wattle. It doesn't appear that they messed up on any of my non-Australorps to get the "accidental rooster" there either.

I read so many posts from members worrying that their precious pullet might actually be a boy and I honestly feel for them under their circumstances, but I purposely order 5 boys and it appears I got none!

Has anyone else experienced this? It is still possible the roos haven't matured enough yet? Maybe one or two, but all five are still hiding their masculinity? I doubt that.