Dirty goose eggs

Kris5902

Enabler
5 Years
Oct 12, 2018
hi, so a friend had her nesting geese attacked by egg thieving raccoons... the geese are fine, but she tried to relocate the nest and remaining 2 eggs into a coop and they abandoned their eggs and went nuts trying to get out. So I whipped out the incubator and got it heated up and I’ve got them in there now, but the eggs are really dirty, should I try to clean them off at all?

I’m not sure how long they have been sitting on them. I have no experience with geese, and my first chicken hatch had issues. I’m going to move the incubator up to my trailer so I can monitor them more closely, but it’s going to stretch my electricity a bit, as I’m off grid solar right now and running a brooder for some chicks.

Any suggestions?

I usually brush excess mud off of geese eggs, but they are typically pretty muddy for me and usually are stained. It never affects the hatch.

Have you read this guide to hatching goose eggs? It's excellent.

hi, so a friend had her nesting geese attacked by egg thieving raccoons... the geese are fine, but she tried to relocate the nest and remaining 2 eggs into a coop and they abandoned their eggs and went nuts trying to get out. So I whipped out the incubator and got it heated up and I’ve got them in there now, but the eggs are really dirty, should I try to clean them off at all?

I’m not sure how long they have been sitting on them. I have no experience with geese, and my first chicken hatch had issues. I’m going to move the incubator up to my trailer so I can monitor them more closely, but it’s going to stretch my electricity a bit, as I’m off grid solar right now and running a brooder for some chicks.

Any suggestions?
I never wash eggs off. I just dry towel wipe if terrible.

I tried to rub some of it off, but they are both fairly well coated with mud... I’m also having a little troubles keeping the temp stable. I feel like I’m in for a long few weeks on this one...

Attachments