Do Male Ducks Sit on nest? w/Pic

Dogginfox

Crowing
16 Years
Jan 25, 2007
Athens, Ga/ Hayesville, NC
I have three Ducks. One is a silverappleyard Drake and the other 2 are Pekins, I am 99% sure one is male and the other is female but for the past few days both pekins have been sitting on a nest of eggs. The silver appleyard jumps in the middle at night but stays outside with the chickens most of the day. I was just under the impression that only female ducks sit on the nest, maybe i was wrong
IMG_1353.jpg

yes male pekings sit on the eggs. i  have male n female and they have mated so i know they both r diffrent sexes. the male sits on some and the female sits on some. as it getting closer to hatchlings ive noticed the male laying next to her on eggs also

Just because there mating dont mean you have a pair i have two pekin ducks that mate with eachother. :)

I have no experience with domestic male ducks sitting on eggs, but I can confirm that some wild species do share in the incubation duties. I used to be an Avian Keeper at a zoo and had several different male Whistling Ducks (Cuban, Spotted, etc) that would take turns with the females in incubating the eggs.

We had a drake sit on a nest while the hen took a break but not full time. He is not hormonal enough to have the right body temperature to hatch the eggs but he can keep them from getting cold and keep predators such as crows from stealing eggs since they will patiently wait for the hen to get off the nest and leave the eggs unprotected. I am sure not all drakes are as invested in sharing parental duties but it is nice to see some of them take an interest in the eggs and not just the hen.