Dog Problems

lovealatte

Hatching
Apr 14, 2015
I have a one-year-old Alaskan Husky. She's usually on an invisable fence at my mother-in-laws house or a 50 foot tie at our house but one morning when I was rushing and figured I'd let her pee quick before I leave....well, let's just say she spent a few hours outside.

Two days later, a police officer comes to us saying our dog made it to a near by chicken coop and killed 6 of her chickens. After some research (because I was so shocked she would do that!!) I found out that it's totally natural for dogs to go primal like that.

The officer told us if we could work it out then he (or the court) doesn't have to get involved. We agreed to pay for the chickens (still can't believe she did that!). I have some knowledge on costs and everything... I have a couple of friends that have coops of their own, too, and I'm even planning on getting some chickens when we aren't renting anymore.

At first the officer told us it'd probably be $20-30...that's that. All done. Later he called us letting us know the owner wants $20 PER chicken now. My mouth dropped open...and so did my friends' when I consulted with them about the fee they wanted.

These chickens are free range, BTW. And my dog was out for 3 hours. The odds are NOT in my favor...

So... After some back and forth...She told me they went ahead and already ordered more chickens. I told her to please give me a receipt and I will gladly cover it. She then went and mentioned the cost of feed...and how much fresh eggs cost... and I reminded her that I am only obligated to pay for the chickens that my dog killed... then told me $100 will do it otherwise she'll see me in court. And I reminded her I'll pay...just give me a receipt. I'm sure if she does take me to court...the judge will want to see a receipt, too.

BTW, there aren't any ordinances here on domestic animals and dogs. Only unrestrained dogs. I realize my dog went on her property...but her chickens are free range.