Dominate White Mutation or Something Else?

Paint. Dark skin
0A6950C0-3BE1-495E-8C34-6D3BE5CEBC4A.jpeg
655577F4-552E-477B-A7F1-EB30AA832FC7.jpeg
black feather comparison
00B622FD-2594-412E-A6C2-7CE2B09F8097.jpeg
face
9FC751E8-14FD-47D7-BA28-E763888B4316.jpeg
Crop
1DA1E81A-86D2-4B01-93C6-3B1B7F244E1E.jpeg
under wing

Attachments

• D448D148-7D22-468D-AC57-99EB490E39DE.jpeg
    D448D148-7D22-468D-AC57-99EB490E39DE.jpeg
    561.5 KB · Views: 1
This is late to the conversation, but I wanted to put this out there for consideration!

I've been working with silkied Cochins for a few years now and heard stories of this even before experiencing it. Silkied feathering can be super tricky with the blue dilution. I've heard more than one story of someone buying what they think are Black Silkies, only to find out they're actually Blue when they hatch Splash babies out of them. Many of my silkied Cochins are Blue, but dark enough that it's hard to tell they're Blue at first glance, to the point that, especially in my boys, some even have beetle green sheen. This is a group of my pullets from last year's hatches, both Blues and Blacks pictured, just as an example of how tough they can be to tell apart at times.

the struggle.jpg

To my eye, especially in those closer pictures of him, I think your rooster is blue instead of black, and the chick in question is just, itself, blue as well.

This is late to the conversation, but I wanted to put this out there for consideration!
Thanks so much for taking the time to respond.