Egg storage temperature question - is this true?

K0k0shka

Free Ranging
Premium Feather Member
Jul 24, 2019
Boston Area, MA
My Coop
My Coop
I just read something on a facebook chicken group that I hadn't heard before (and I have a lot of chicken experience). BYC has a lot more experienced folks and a lot more (reliable) collective knowledge than facebook though, so I want to hear your thoughts. I read that, in the winter, when it's cold enough outside to be near refrigerator temperature, you shouldn't bring eggs into room temperature and leave them on the counter like the rest of the year, but they should go directly into the refrigerator and stay there until ready to use. I asked why, and there were varying answers... Some people say that the resulting condensation compromises the bloom's protective properties, other people say it's nothing to do with the bloom, but the fats in the egg go rancid when there's a change in temperature like that, specifically from cold to less cold. Both theories sound plausible, but not convincing. Is this true? Do you refrigerate all your eggs in the winter? I've never heard this before, never refrigerated backyard eggs in any season unless they had to be washed for some reason (too poopy, etc.) My flock is small and eggs don't sit around long before being eaten, so I just have no need for refrigeration anyway. I've been adding new pullets every year for the past few years, so I have some eggs throughout winter. I collect once or twice a day (and don't let them overnight in the nests), bring them either into the basement (mid-50's) or in the house on the counter (mid 60's) until ready to cook. I've never seen condensation on the eggs. Never had any issues with bad eggs, people getting sick etc. I always cook the eggs all the way through, if I want to make mayonnaise or hollandaise sauce I sous vide the eggs first to make sure they are safe. Should I be worried?

1701184569508.jpeg