Eggs - post laying

Mrs. Foghorn Leghorn

Songster
16 Years
Mar 26, 2008
East Central FL
I'm a total newbie, but I'm learning fast by doing a lot of reading here. I have one question that I haven't seen come up recently.

After you start getting some eggs (I'll be there in 5 mo), do you wash them before putting them in the frig? What do you wash them with? Do you even bother to refrigerate at first? Y'all, don't laugh. Seriously, I'm a city girl who loves the country life.

I'm looking for any wisdom given on that window/ time frame from when it hits the nest to the time you eat it.

From what I have been told they will last longer if you don't wash them. They will last 2 months in the fridge. If there is poo on them just take a damp wash cloth and rub that spot. I collect mine twice a day and put them in an egg carton and put them in the fridge.

Now when I give them to my friends and neighbors I do wash them in soapy water.

I am also a newbie so don't take my word on it. Hopefully some of the other wonderful people here could be more helpful.

Bren1222 has good advice.
smile.png

There is a film on the eggs that helps keep them fresh, and you want to avoid washing that off. If you keep the nest clean and collect often, you'll get very few soiled eggs.

People leave their eggs out only if they have never been refrigerated, once you put them in the fridge, leave them there.

If you leave the eggs out, they are completely safe, and some books I have read say that they will even last longer stored this way. Personally I feel better when eggs over 1 week old get refridgerated, but that is for my own heebee geebees.