Evieshotchicks Experience

waddles99

Songster
8 Years
Jun 22, 2013
NJ
I would like to make a few comments on Evieshotchicks in Cookstown, NJ. I don't ever really write bad reviews for anything, but I feel the need to write something about this place given how horrible my experience has been. I really encourage everyone to STAY AWAY FROM EVIESHOTCHICKS. Let me start off by saying that I don't know whether it is the ignorance of the breeder causing these problems, or that they are trying to scam people, but neither is acceptable. I purchased "Heritage Rhode Island Red" pullets from them. They promised that they were dark mahogany, heritage Rhode Island Reds, with teal tail feathering. I was a complete beginner and thought this was a great deal and opportunity to get some birds that were better quality than hatchery. As I learned more and more about Rhode Island Reds, it became clear to me that these birds were definetly not heritage RIR. But, my greatest shock came when I showed them to a judge who was part of the Penn State Poultry judging team, and a very reputable judge. He told me that my birds were "production reds" and were not even close to being Rhode Island Reds, let alone being heritage. I showed him a pic of the birds that I got from Ideal Hatchery, and he even said those were better than the Rhode Island Reds I got from Evieshotchicks. Now, I don't know why this breeder feels the need to lie about their birds, but basically what the judge told me was that they were so poor quality they shouldn't even be classified as the breed. They are mutts, essentially, and branded "production reds", a generic term for any red colored egg layer. I could not be more displeased with these RIR. I had been looking for nice, good quality RIR that would do well for me at shows, and I was assured these birds would do well and were good quality. Evieshotchicks took advantage of me being a beginner to sell me these birds. Had I known then what I know now, I wouldve laughed at t