SconnieChickens

Chirping
Mar 18, 2020
Southern Wisconsin
I am brand new to raising chickens and I am debating on how to manage them...we have about an acre of unfenced land and a coop that's been given to us by friends. I'd like to let them out, but I have some concerns:
1.) We live pretty close to a road that sees a decent amount of traffic.
2.) I have lots of plants on the property that I don't want to see destroyed that can't be individually fenced.
3.) I have a lovely dog that will seek out and eat every piece of poop not washed away and then get VERY VERY SICK. I speak from experience. Lots of it.

I have room to give them a good sized run (30 ft long or more) but I don't want them to be unhealthy because they don't have access to grass. I don't know how long the grass in the run would last or if I could supplement.
BTW this is for 8-12 hens. TIA!

I bought a 20x20x6 fence/dog pen and I cover it with a net. And I move it around every month or so. I normally free range but currently I’m not and that fence has worked well so far.

Welcome!
Free ranging is great sometimes, but there will be problems too. Predators will take birds, generally your favorites. Birds might try crossing that road and fail. They will love your favorite plants, and rearrange all your mulched beds. They may hide eggs so you can't fine them, at least until they are inedible. They may decide to visit the neighbors, definitely a bad thing!
Your run will be bare ground in a short time, unless you can rotate it to fresh sites often. Plan to have shavings, wood chips, and assorted plant materials in it for the birds to play in instead of hoping for grass.
Many of us free range, and have a safe run and coop for times when the birds must be kept in, sometimes for weeks, because of a predator, or heavy snow. Having a big enough covered run is worth it whether you free range or not!
Mary