Gardening with poultry thread!!!

chicken farmer

Songster
10 Years
Feb 7, 2012
Southern,Ohio
This is the thread where we will discuss ways to use all kinds of poultry in are gardens as helpers. You can use chickens to till it and eat bugs but only before you plant cause chickens rake up the soil with there feet looking for food. Ducks can be in the garden when the plants have grown up so they don't eat them and they don't scratch up the soil with there feet like chickens,they will eat bugs,weeds,snails,slugs and keep it all cleaned up. Any other ways you can use poultry let's discuss it here!!! I know there's other poultry garden threads but here's another to get started!
wee.gif
D.gif

I'm excited to see this thread! I am an avid gardener and this is my first year having chickens. My goal is to have a large enough garden so we can all share. A 'plenty to go around' attitude. So far the birds have done great. No major damage to anything. Honestly they love my dill and my compost pile. I'm currently building up my yards perimeter with flowers and bushes for them to find shade and shelter (they of course have shade and shelter in their coop and pen but prefer to free range the yard). I'm interested in other peoples gardens and experiences with chickens and gardening.

Craftymama: is your yard fenced? It sounds lovely. I have deer netting around my garden. Some of the more flighty chicks (10-11 weeks old) are able to fly over the fence and have done some damage... time for the scissors! They are learning to free range my unfenced rural yard. Last year's girls free range every day that i am home. I'm also excited to see what kind of benefit the girls impart to my garden soil and yard. But keeping ahead of their desire to do damage is a challenge. It's about like having a yard full of 2 year olds!