heat lamp & chicks

StarlynMarie

In the Brooder
Jun 18, 2015
Antioch, CA
I'm fairly new to owning chicks - I've grown up around chickens but never got the chance to raise a chick and I haven't quite figured it all out yet.

We have four chicks in the house all in one nice big box (until they can go outside). Two RIRs and two Australorps. They're about three weeks old.

I live in Northern California (just east of the Bay Area) and now that summer is here, it's getting pretty hot outside, especially in the house. When we got the chicks, we did buy a heat lamp for them (that was about two weeks ago), but we've only used it a handful of times. They all seem to be doing fine, just as active as ever, and they do cuddle up to each other when they're sleeping like they have since day one. But I was wondering if, since it can (and has over the last few days) get well up into the 90s and very low 100s and will only get hotter, do we have to and should we still be using the heat lamp on them? If so, for how long? Does it have to be 24/7 or for only a few hours a day?

Please help me, chicken savvy people.

Thank you!!!

When chicks first hatch, they should be kept at about 95 to 98 degrees that first week if you are artificially brooding with a heat lamp. Be sure to have the lamp on one end of the box so that they can move into and away from the heat as they need. Food and water should be at the end away from the heat.

Each week, it is advised to lower the temperature by at least 5 degrees, by raising the heat lamp, until by 6 weeks of age, sooner if fully feathered, they are at ambient indoor temperature. Red light is better than white light as it does not interfere with their body rhythms as much.

Once they are acclimated to indoor temps, you then begin to acclimate them to outdoor temperature by exposing them to the outdoors during the day, bringing them in at night or putting the heat lamp on at night if needed.