Hello everyone, Newbie to Call Ducks, Question on Call Duck Growth

Zhengwenc

In the Brooder
May 24, 2022
Hello everyone, I am very new to call ducks, and very excited.
Couple months ago, I purchased a dozen call duck eggs from a lady. 8 of them were actually fertilized, so very exciting moment. However, 2 stopped growing unfortunately. I had searched quite a bit information about call ducks before getting the eggs, so I was prepared. luckily, all rest 6 were hatched, and of course, I did help them a little bit.
1.jpg

They were absolutely cute and adorable! These are the pictures when they are within 1 week old.
2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

And this is when we gave them the 1st bath when they were 5 days old. We were worried about getting them out of the brooder to have the bath would be too cold, so we put the water bowl inside the brooder, haha.
7.jpg

When they are about 3 weeks old, we started to put them outside (in a large chicken coop) for the day time, and move them into the garage for night time. We live in Washington. These days are pretty hot in the day time, but sometimes the night is still cold.
Also, we have friends who are very interested in call ducks, and we said we would gave them one or two depends on how many we could actually hatch. Since we have 6 hatched, we gave them 2 ducks, so we only have 4 now.
These are the pictures from 1 week old to now (they are 32 days old as of today).
8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

23.jpg

24.jpg

25.jpg

And by the way, we named them based on the minions. Two relatively bigger ones are Kevin and Dave, the smaller one is Stuart, and the very tiny one is Bob.
Kevin and Dave are growing faster than Stuart and Bob, they are heavier and bigger. Also they are pretty naughty.