Hello! I have 12 new chicks!

Hello, I just bought 15 chicks on the 9th and sadly 3 of them have passed, they were very small and weak. So, now I have 12, I have made sure everything in the brooder is the way is should be. They are about 10 days old and are thriving! There does not seem to be any sign of disease, So all is well so far!

I am new to chickens, these are my very first although did a LOT of research before getting them and I feel that that has helped. I own 6 Rhode island reds 2 brahmas 3 Ameraucana and 1 buff orpington. I had originally wanted orpingtons and no Rhode island reds, but.. the feed barn I had gone to told that the reds where buffs, 3 days later im trying to find out what breed the little blond one is and I discover she is the only buff and the other "buffs" where reds. But they are active and healthy little girls so far and are great egg layers so they'll stay.

I have had dogs most of my life but have had many different animals I currently own 2 rabbits,3 parakeets,1 guinea pig and 3 dogs. I love all of them! I hope I make as few mistakes as possible being new at this an all!

sincerely, click cluck!:jumpy

Greetings and welcome to BYC! So glad you joined us. Sorry that you lost some of your starter flock. It's sad, but all too common. The chicks go through a lot of stress before they end up at their final destination. There's a wealth of info, knowledge and experience shared in the multitude of threads. Browse around and see what interesting stuff you can find. By all means post away when the desire strikes you, especially if you have questions (provide as much detail/info as possible and pictures truly help)... With all the great folks here, generally someone will respond in no time at all. Please make yourself at home!