Help...3 yo Rhode Island Red with watery crop?? Black vomit?

becky31312

Hatching
Mar 14, 2016
I am relatively new to being a chicken mom. I've had my 4 chickens for almost 3 years now and never had an issue. I noticed yesterday that my Rhode Island Red (pollo diablo) was lethargic and did not shy away when I tried to pick her up. I felt her crop and it is EXTREMELY watery....you can hear the water sloshing around. I put her in a kennel last night and withheld water and food to see if it would go down. It did not. I accidentally drained it yesterday and then after internet research drained it again today and got a good bit of black brackish type water out. It by no means drained it dry and she was so weak tonight when I tried to put her back in the hen house she couldn't get on the roost with the other 3 hens. I let her out today and she picked a little but no real interest. We don't have a vet that specializes in chickens near me that I can call tonight. I'm not sure what I should do at this point. I have a tractor supply near the house and several older farmers at church that I can call tomorrow. However, I thought it might be a better idea to ask you guys since most of us have chickens as pets.

I should also say her comb is still red. She does feel VERY skinny, which you couldn't tell until you picked her up...I didn't smell anything foul coming out of her mouth.

Also...yesterday I did soak her bottom in warm water because she had poop that had built up from having diarrhea.

Help....someone please tell me what to do. Can I drain her with a syringe?

Thanks in advance,
Becky