HELP - coccidiosis in 1mo old poult? (listless, not eating)

Peregrinchook

In the Brooder
Jun 2, 2022
(Edited to be less chatty, was flustered with the first draft)

My 1 mo old turkey(out of 5 total) has been very listless, not eating. So far it's looking like coccidiosis to me but I'm still learning.

Yesterday put him in an "isolation tank" after noticing him sleeping on his feet, then gasping for air(neck stretched, longue out). The other turkeys were quick to start attacking him, so in iso he went

He has food, water, bedding and a heat lamp. I haven't seen the stretching/gasping breathing pattern since he calmed down after the attack and relocation.

He has no discharge or wheezing. He goes from listless walking around slowly and deliberately, to sleeping a lot, or lying down normally but alert with head up and eyes open. He's tending to keep his head close to body, a little fluffed up.

He's drinking water but showing no interest in food, even when held out to him.

CROP
I felt his crop, comparing it to one of the other turkeys, squishier rather than feeling feed. I don't smell anything off.

Did a throat swab with a Qtip and nothing came up(gapeworm was the first concern)

POOP
Poops had less and less solids to the point of just liquid. This afternoon he passed a more substantial stool(see pic) he's eaten a bit?

Having read through the forum a bit we're hoping to get fecal samples out to a local vet to test it even though none agreed to examine him when we first made calls.

Is there anything that can be done to give this guy energy and a chance while we figure things out?

Thank you for your time, will continue the search
Screenshot_20220602-165339_Gallery.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome To BYC

I'm sorry he's not well.
Photos of the poult himself may be helpful as well - so we can see condition/stance.