Hen with red and poopy butt? What is this from?

picklestheduck

Obsessed with Animals🦆🐓🐥🐴🐱🐶
Premium Feather Member
Oct 16, 2021
Michigan
Hey everyone, I’m finally just getting to posting this. One of my Wyandotte's behind looked a little funky when I was refilling the food, I noticed some poopy, clumpy feathers and some pretty red skin, so I caught her to clean her up, and decided to post here with some pictures, because I can’t figure out why it’s so red? This was yesterday because it slipped my mind to post it then. I see no sign of maggots, prolapse, or egg binding that I can tell, but I am not an expert in any of those cases so maybe I missed something? I trimmed a lot of those feathers after holding a wet rag on there to loosen the poop, and I felt like I could feel her (idk what you call those bones) but like the bone around and under her vent, maybe a bit more than I have before? But I’m not really sure. She acts totally normal, but I have found some consistent bloody eggs recently that I haven’t figured out who they are coming from yet. Could this be from her? It’s not every day or anything like that, but here and there and maybe occasionally two or three in a row, but then they stop, and everyone acts normal. Sorry for the poor quality pictures, I was in a rush to leave and just stopped to look fast. I can get more tonight if you guys think it’s needed.

Attachments

• 17483E2E-922A-409A-9A66-177CDEEA7C04.jpeg
    17483E2E-922A-409A-9A66-177CDEEA7C04.jpeg
    550.2 KB · Views: 49
  • 9B8FACB3-B386-4FFD-97E9-FB502D7581A8.jpeg
    9B8FACB3-B386-4FFD-97E9-FB502D7581A8.jpeg
    468.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 7F6EED02-060F-403B-97E5-DB2B460B19DF.jpeg
    7F6EED02-060F-403B-97E5-DB2B460B19DF.jpeg
    501.5 KB · Views: 12
  • 9CCEA7BD-5266-4EE7-8BB1-AE93D958BB36.jpeg
    9CCEA7BD-5266-4EE7-8BB1-AE93D958BB36.jpeg
    505.2 KB · Views: 10
Or my other question was, is it from poop sitting on it and irritating it? But like i feel like that’s not it.