I need help?? please

hollie2100

In the Brooder
Jun 17, 2015
So I am new to chickens. Decided we wanted a small back yard flock so I heard of some buff orpingtons locally for sale. Four hens and a rooster hatched last summer. I researched the breed and really liked so my husband brings home these bird. And they look horrible :( pale combs with no tail feathers! The previous owner reassured us they were just bullied. Next day I looked and they had mites!! So...I got 7dust and individually dusted rach bird best I could, dipped there scaley legs into gasoline, & then emptied the coop powdered seven dust in there used a natural insectoside to spray corners added fresh shavings on top and moved the chicken coop to fresh grass put them back in there
Then gave them wazine I think how its spelled I mixed 1oz to one gallon within four hours they were pooping worms!!!! At this point I'm so grosses out cause they were eating them!!!! Will that cause them to get back in the intrstine?? & what should my next steps be?? Please any info will be great

hi there , I'm no expert on chickens but I'm sure the worms if excreted after treatment will be dead. so lots of protein for the birds think of it as the cycle of life. that's a medical opinion. anyway I hope things work out and think of this as something we all go through whether its right at the start or a year in, at least you got it out of the way. soon you'll have the satisfaction of knowing you gave those birds a better life.

Yes but it was alive! :/
Should I reworm again in 10 days?
& what about mites does that have to be done again

Worms and mites both have lifecycles that require retreating.