I spotted a RACCOON! We have COONS! Please help. =(

MisfitMarie

Songster
5 Years
Oct 20, 2014
Portland, OR
I am new to suburbia. This large, tight neighborhood has quite possibly given me a false sense of security. In my ignorance, I gave my lovely little flock a now-insufficient coop in my backyard. There are openings that a rodent or small mammal could get through, but at the time, I figured it was secure enough...until tonight. I was outside, in my pajamas, shutting the coop up for the night. At approx. 9:45 PM, I spotted a raccoon!

It was walking towards me, in the dark, along the top of the fence. It was a mere four feet away, before I grabbed a rake and began banging on the coop, screaming at it. It ran away, but stopped another ten yards away before continuing on.

I grew up in a rural neighborhood, with chickens and the predators that followed them. I remember, as a child, precautions that were taken and traps that were made, but it's hazy. I am weary of guns, or weapons of any sort. I am afraid of them, but I know how to use them. I have about ten years of experience with rifles, shotguns, and handguns. I simply only prefer to use them in defense of my own property. In this tight neighborhood, I'm not exactly sure what I can get away with.

Advice needed. Suggestions are welcome. Please, help!

I adore my small flock of pullets... I'm FREAKING OUT after what I saw tonight...

I don't want to wake up one morning to find a raccoon has killed my chickens.
hit.gif

WHERE DO I START?

I'm sleeping downstairs tonight, with the window open... I'm a light-sleeper, and I will be able to hear any sort of ruckus that takes place...

Last edited: