Identdifying young roosters.

charliepsmith

Hatching
Aug 5, 2020
Hi,
My name is charlie and i am from Ireland. I am completely new to keeping chickens. I have 7 chickens which of which 5 are 10 weeks old and 2 are 8 weeks old.. I have 2 buff orpingtons, 2 cream crested legbars, 2 Silver laced wyandottes and a barnevelder at least i think thats what i have. I have them since they are a few days old. They seem to be doing well and are outside now for the last weeks or so. One of the Wyandottes tried to crow today and i am assuming it is a rooster. I am worried that i have 3 or 4 roosters but i am not sure. Can i keep all the roosters? A few of them seem to be squareing up to one another and its happening more reqularly. I am just looking to see if anybody can tell if they are roosters or not. Thanks for any help.

Pretty sure this one is a rooster, He seems to be the boss.
IMG_20200805_092722.jpg

This is the wyandotte that tried to crow, and the smaller of the buff orpingtons.
IMG_20200805_092400.jpg

This is the smaller silver laced wyandotte. 8 weeks old
IMG_20200805_190920.jpg

This is the barnevelder. This one is only 8 weeks old.
IMG_20200805_190649.jpg

One of the cream crested legbars, which i know are both girls.

IMG_20200805_190951.jpg

Search Results
Web results

Barnevelder

Attachments

• IMG_20200805_093100.jpg
    IMG_20200805_093100.jpg
    722.3 KB · Views: 4
  • IMG_20200805_093122.jpg
    IMG_20200805_093122.jpg
    859.1 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_20200805_190548.jpg
    IMG_20200805_190548.jpg
    432.4 KB · Views: 6
Keeping all the cockerels in a bachelor pad could work, if you have the space.

You will need to get more girls to keep that Buff Orp pullet company.
You can put one cockerel with the buff girl, and get more girls for that group, and then have the remaining cockerels in a separate group, not in view. Then those cockerels won't have a girl to fight over. Don't let them see the girls.