incubating african eggs - detached air cell (day 30 - they are hatching!!)

Iain Utah

Crowing
12 Years
Dec 17, 2011
This is my first attempt at hatching goose eggs, but am excited at the challenge. I just candled for the first time at day 4.5 and noticed one of the eggs' air cells is floating around (they are shipped eggs). The embryo appears to be developing, but it is hard to tell this early. I am using an LG still air, so space is tight. I was wondering if it would help to prop that egg at an angle so that fat end is slightly elevated?

FYI, I have 2 sets of goose eggs in my bator... standard non-dewlap africans, which I can candle pretty easily and see clear spiders in 4 (the 5th has the weird air cell). My other set are the large dewlap africans. Those eggs are bigger and appear more porous than the standard african eggs. I cannot candle these easily to see if fertile or not. I am hoping that when I try again in a few days I will be able to see inside more clearly.

Either way, at this point I have at least 4 that are alive. Hope you guys can guide me through the pitfalls and help me have a successful hatch!

OH... and Pete's guide and his other super informative posts are AMAZING!! Pete, if you read this, THANKS!!!!!!

Last edited:
I always attempt incubation even on the badly torn air cell eggs and yes, I prop them up in the corner or I take out a section of an egg carton and use that as a prop. I have to tell you though, I've never had an egg of any kind hatch when the air cell is completely torn. If its just loose, sometimes I'm successful, but never when there's an air bubble inside. I hope you have better luck! Keep us posted on how its going.... I just LOOOOVE hatchin baby geese!!!