Just starting out (any useful advice would be very nice! :)

mhoward92

Songster
12 Years
Oct 5, 2007
Im just starting out with this "adventure"
tongue.png
i do have some questions that i know are very basic but could use some logical answers.

1) is there a certain breed that is best for a beginner? (i am looking for layers not roasters)

2)I live in Northern Michigan were it gets cold in the winter and loves to dump snow on us... any advice on a certain type of coop/run?

3) I am a bit confused on if i can put roosters and hens together in a coop/run or if i need to seperate them (Do they fight?) i do know that hens are agressive when "broody".

if you could please post any replys that could answer these questions it would help so much

Thanks, Mitch

Last edited:
Hi Mitch and Welcome to the forum!

As far as good beginner breeds and which breeds would do best in your area, check out Henderson's handy-dandy chicken chart.

If you just want eggs, you don't need to have a rooster.

We have mild winters here in TN, so I can't really be any help with your coop but I know someone will be along who can help you more!

Dawn

Quote:
1. http://www.ithaca.edu/staff/jhenderson/chooks/chooks.html#b Hendersons chart- look for cold hardy (I would sujust BUCKEYES but I'm prtial to them) but many other cochins/delawares just scan the chart. Also on chart do you want white eggs?brown eggs? green eggs? (yes they have them sam I am) see Easter Eggers.

2. Your coop will have to be strong enough to hold up the snow, just look at any of your sheds to see how much bracing is required.