Liquid Permethrin Spray

RiotRooster

In the Brooder
Jan 25, 2018
I’m trying to figure out the proper way to use liquid permethrin, as I’ve seen several conflicting things.

Do you dilute and mix it in a spray bottle and spray the whole bird or do you fill a container and dip them? Also should I seriously worry about my cats? I know it’s poisonous to cats, and the chicken is currently living in the house due to frostbite. Can I treat her in a different room, and return her to her little pen safely after she’s dried?

I’ve been bathing her in dawn dish soap then dusting with DE after she’s dried, and while it’s helped a lot I’ve been doing for like two months and still finding eggs. I’m going to go nuts if I don’t completely get rid of them soon!!

Personally, I would use Poultry dust on the bird. You can get it at TSC. Just cut a leg off some panty hose, pour the poultry dust in to it and tie the end off. I wear a face mask while I do it and I recommend you apply it outside of your house. I just did a puff on their back, breast, and bottom, then worked it in a little bit with my fingers.

I used the liquid permethrin concentrate to spray my coop, not the chickens, but there is a dilution ratio for using it directly on the birds.
here's a video on how to apply using a spray bottle if you prefer that method.

The only reason I don’t want to use the dust is I’m worried about her shaking it off and it poisoning my cats. Like I said I’ve been dusting weekly for about two months we DE, and bleaching her living space. She’s not even super infested, I see a bug or two if I search well but I can still see eggs. I just cannot seem to get rid of them it’s driving me crazy!

Are you sure they're eggs and not egg casings?