Looking for advice on coop..

tamaraly81

Chirping
5 Years
May 12, 2014
United States
So I'm new to raising chickens, wehave a total of 9, the first 5 we got in April and 4 more a month later so they're separated, we have the smaller girls in a dog house in the run, the big girls up in the coop(big girls are really mean to the little, how long will this last?) As they're growing I'm worried they'll not have enough room in the coop especially being cooped up all winter (we're in wisconsin). It's 8 ft X 5 ft , need to know if I should make an addition before winter. Also in the process of finishing they're nesting boxes which is another thing I'm unsure of... How many boxes should we have for 9 hens? And lastly, what do ya'll use for bedding? We have sand in the coop now but I feel they don't like it, they sleep in the corner on the linoleum.
Any advice will help! :) Thank you in advance.

BackYard Chickens would like to say thank you
to our site Sponsors!

So they are roughly 2 months and 3 months old. Sometimes chickens of about any age can get along fine but often the more mature will pick on the less mature. It’s part of establishing the pecking order. If a lower ranking chicken enters the personal space of the higher ranking, the higher ranking is within its rights to peck the weaker chicken. Usually the weaker just runs away and quickly learns to avoid the stronger to start with. There might be some chasing involved but usually as long as the weaker runs away things are fine. A huge problem comes about if the weaker does not have room to run away or gets trapped in a corner or some place like that. The stronger takes that as a challenge to its social position and will keep on attacking.

How long does this last? Until the weaker matures enough to force its way into the pecking order. With pullets this is usually around the time they start to lay, though that can vary a fair amount. Each chicken is an individual with its own personality.