Moving Ducklings outside ?

RaisingDucks2020

In the Brooder
Apr 14, 2020
Fresh bedding after a nice swim outside 🦆

When did you move your ducklings outside? The recommended 6 week mark? Sooner or later? .. I'm in no rush to move them, my Mallards are really starting to get feathers now..(they are 1 week older then the pekins) the pekins feathers are slowing coming in! this is my first time raising ducklings 🦆 I sure do enjoy watching them grow!

Attachments

• 20200419_192109.jpg
    20200419_192109.jpg
    495.7 KB · Views: 16
Fresh bedding after a nice swim outside 🦆

When did you move your ducklings outside? The recommended 6 week mark? Sooner or later? .. I'm in no rush to move them, my Mallards are really starting to get feathers now..(they are 1 week older then the pekins) the pekins feathers are slowing coming in! this is my first time raising ducklings 🦆 I sure do enjoy watching them grow!
it will completely depend on where you live and what the temperatures are.

Most people will give you different answers, but the general consensus is: after their feathers have come in.

However, my three Pekins (first time duck mama here too!) outgrew their brooder and I had nowhere to keep them outside of that in my house, they were strong and seemed okay. So I moved them to the coop, but moved their heat lamp with them so they wouldn’t be cold, because they don’t have all their feathers yet. My outside temps during the night are still in the 30’s, but 60-70 during the day, which is another reason they have the heat lamp.

Again, most people have differing opinions, so take them into consideration, and do what you feel is best for your birds!