My chicks are sick!!

Cass64

In the Brooder
May 5, 2023
Flock of eleven 3 week old chicks, 4 are sick, 1 in very bad shape.

I am new to raising chicks but heard the process is usually quite easy. I have a proper setup and quality medicated feed. I have already lost two chicks to what I've assumed to be coccidiosis. Corid is not available here, and we have no vets or stores that deal with chickens, so I've been relying on their feed.

Four chicks are now sick. Two have been having bloody stool and lethargy, so i was expecting all of them to have coccidiosis. But the two other sick chicks are sneezing and one gasping for air, have a lack of appetite and look very weak. This doesn't come up as symptoms of coccidiosis.

I've quarantined them all together because I do not have the supplies to divide them up into 3, but I don't know how to help them breathe better. I have been giving them nutridtench mixed with yolk, VetRX and electrolyte water, but the ones gasping are not getting better.

The weakest one looks like she's in a lot of pain. I keep applying vetRX to get her to breathe but it's so labored still. I am writing this post at 1 AM and I am so worried I will lose another chick. Please help.

I’m so sorry you are dealing with this. I don’t have any experience in dealing with respiratory distress at all. Do you see their nose is obstructed? I’ve seen crusty noses before, maybe there is a diy fix for the Corid. Hopefully someone else jumps on to advise 🤗

I’m so sorry you are dealing with this. I don’t have any experience in dealing with respiratory distress at all. Do you see their nose is obstructed? I’ve seen crusty noses before, maybe there is a diy fix for the Corid. Hopefully someone else jumps on to advise 🤗
Their noses are all fine from what I can tell, their sneezes sound wet and they often hang their mouthes open and droop a lot. I think it's in their lungs moreso- praying someone can help me save them. Watching them struggle is breaking my heart.