My hens are working together with their chicks

Pics

Kat2141

Songster
Jul 25, 2018
Windsor, NY
hi all, I've read the forums off and on but just now joined. I'm fairly new to chickens. I just thought I'd share a little about my girls. I got some red-sex-link chicks last year from the local Tractor Supply. It was still very cold outside, so they started out in the house and were later moved outside to our barn to a 10x10 stall that was no longer used, with access to a fenced 15' by 40' yard. They have been egg laying machines! Back in mid-June one decided she wanted to set. I have no rooster, so I know the eggs were not fertile. Well, I thought... why not? So I got on Craigslist and looked for fertile eggs. I found a lady that sold me a dozen (mixed breeds) for $1.75. I didn't really count on many, if any, hatching. I really didn't "need" any more but figured I could deal with a couple if they made it and my niece wanted some chicks too.

A couple days after I gave her the dozen, one of the other hens climbed into the nest box with her and stayed there. So I moved her to the box next door and gave her 6 of the eggs. They were pretty much happy (but both preferred the box on the left, haha) and sat on their eggs. One day, almost 3 weeks later, I noticed something white under the one girl, I got it out and found it was one of the eggs... the shell was mostly gone but the membrane was still strong and intact. The chick was dead that was in it. A couple hours later, I heard peeping under one of the them. All of the 11 remaining eggs hatched out in a day! (I had to help the very last one, but it lived). When they were a day old, my daughter reached in to pick one up (they don't really know her). The mama in the opposite box went into the box to, I guess, help defend the other's clutch. I ended up removing the board that separated the 2 boxes and all of the chicks and the 2 hens were together in a large box.