• Continue breeding but inform clients when they buy

• Don't cry it's gonna be okay

Results are only viewable after voting.

Iziayia

Chirping
5 Years
Oct 2, 2014
Ottawa, On
I can't explain how heavy my heart felt this morning when I received the test results back. My birds have been diagnosed with Mycoplasma.

I've been raising and breeding heritage breed poultry for a few years now. I even have my own 'line' of Olive egger chickens that I've been working very diligently on. For the most part I've had a closed flock, and practiced rotational breeding (spiral breeding). The only birds I've taken onto my farm recently have been commercial white turkey poults from a large hatchery (for meat) and a few birds from a supposed reputable breeder (which I now believe to be the source since they refuse to talk to me now). I always quarantine all my birds, but likely I had just bought a carrier since I didn't see anything wrong with them.

A month ago when we got into extremely hot weather and all my birds became stressed they started to show symptoms and it got especially sever for my white turkeys. Everyone else has only mild to none-existent symptoms but my commercial birds are in real bad shape. It took me a long time to finally get someone out and take samples (because what kind of vet cares about backyard poultry right? ) and the tests I got back this morning.

I'm at a loss for what to do. The ethical thing that everyone seems to present when they are not in this type of position is to cull everything, start new after a waiting period. Years of breeding will go down the drain - for a disease that seems to be prevalent in 90% of flocks. Not only that, but also all the money spent on these birds over the years, the genetics, the effort to come to a schreeching halt?! It makes me so angry, and sad and anxious. What the heck do I do? How do you turn your back on something like this?