Natural wood Roosts, heights and angles ?

CanbyDan

Songster
6 Years
Jan 1, 2015
Canby OR
Complete newbe here, forgive if I'm asking silly questions.

I'm close to being finished with rebuilding what started life as a big rabbit hutch and run and making a proper coop. Rough dimensions are 4x4x4' coop with four 12x12x12" plywood nesting boxes that can be accessed from outside by lifting the roof. Coop is 2 feet above an enclosed 4x8' run that is open on bottom and surrounded with hardware cloth.

Trying to make it as comfortable as possible for the yet to be purchased flock as they will only get to free range about 4 days a week due to our work schedule. Have a question about the roosts I setup in the outer run. Used some 2 to 3" limbs from trees we trimmed and put at three levels, they are at about 3', 4' and 5' from ground. Kind of a random pattern so everything is not so square. Will our [future] birds (only going for eggs at first, EE, Lorps, Orpintons) be able to jump/fly to the lower roost, my concern is it's too high and maybe I need a ramp?
These two pics show what I have so far on the roosts, hardware cloth will be last to go on. Will my setup work?

Nesting boxes yet to be installed, will be able to clean and collect eggs from outside of coop.

Back side where nesting boxes will be fastened, thinking about 10" high from floor?

I'm open to all your tips and suggestions and thanks for your help,
Dan & Vicki

Last edited:
Today's updates.

Removed the nesting box and changed from 12x12" to 12x16" nests.

Removed one section of siding below it, now nest is about 6-7" off floor.

Cutout the entrance and fabbed a stainless steel (Chaffing dish lid from Goodwill store) pop door. For now. it will just be operated by a rope but later I'll build and automatic opener. Still need the ramp.

Pic from backside,

Hoping to finish this weekend as SHMBO says we're out of eggs ;-)

Dan

welcome-byc.gif