Neighbor wants to give me her Blue Orpington layers--have Scaly Leg Mites

penella22

In the Brooder
5 Years
Mar 24, 2014
So I am fairly new to chickens, having just gotten my first chicks in late May this year. I have eight 4 week old chicks. They are fairly healthy and happy although one does seem stunted in growth after having a prolapsed vent.

I went to a yard sale today where one of the things for sale was the family's chickens! She bought a bunch of Orpingtons from a heritage breeder two years ago. There are are blacks, and 2 blues. I told her I was interested in the 2 blues.

Then she told me they have Scaly Leg Mites. And now I'm thinking that I shouldn't get them. They're really beautiful birds though, and laying eggs right now whereas mine won't start for months to come. And she's willing to give them to me for free because of the mites. She's in the middle of building a new house and hasn't started treating the birds yet, but has bought some special oil to treat them with. She said she will start treating them today.

We don't quite have our coop finished--still need to put down linoleum and build brooder boxes etc. But if we got that done asap then I would have a way to isolate the birds with leg mites from my healthy chicks in their brooder, who don't need to go out in the coop for another 2-4 weeks.

What do more experienced people think? Good opportunity to get breeding hens, or something I shouldn't do?

I've also heard it's not good to mix birds of different ages together because of how bacteria cycle through the flock...does anyone know anything about this?

Last edited:
ohhhhh my mouth is drooling, I would dearly love the whole works. I like BO's, and never have had either a black or lavendar....