New member. Laying hens & personality

Shawnee Moon

In the Brooder
Feb 27, 2015
Powell, Wyoming
Hello. Im new here. My name is Shawnee Moon. I'm 53, divorced and live in northern Wyoming. I will have questions I'm sure. I'm new at this.

I recently moved in with my boyfriend on three acres. There is an existing chicken house and run here which just needs the motorcycle parts hauled out from it. :)
Anyway, I got my Murray McMurray catalog (and there's a co-op here, too) and am shopping for chicks. I am partial to the bigger breeds, and since I'm an animal lover, I want friendly breeds. The girls will be pets as well as egg layers. And, of course, must have names. Anyway, I picked out 4-5 kinds, since the hatcheries require a 25 chick minimum. I chose:
Buff Orpingtons
White Orpingtons
Black Jersey Giants
Barred Rocks

and am looking for a fifth breed, preferably a different color, to round out 5 types of 5 birds each. I don't want the girls squabbling and I don't want bullying. You know what that does to a girl's self esteem.

I'm vegetarian so these will be laying hens/pets. Stray roosters from shipment might end up in a freezer, I d know. (boyfriend eats meat). I like large, colorful eggs, and large, amicable hens. Extra eggs will be sold or given away.

Also, any recommendations or comments on hatcheries, purchasing, etc. I've had exotic parrots but not chickens.

One more thing: we are also putting a vegetable garden in, anything to plant specially for the ladies, or anything that should be avoided?

Thank in advance for your suggestions.

You can never go wrong with EEs (they incorrectly call them araucana/ameraucanas). They are typically smaller bodied so they eat less, have small pea combs that don't tend to get frostbite and who can argue with green eggs? They will also tend to all look different so that adds more diversity.