New to this guinea forum

Sandshaven

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jun 6, 2013
Mercer, PA
My Coop
My Coop
But not new to guineas.. I have been raising, training and selling them for the past few years now.
We only raise guineas at our location.
We are NPIP Certified and our birds are registered as therapy flocks. We use them to help people with autism.
I am a Certified Poultry Technician (CPT) for the PA Dept.of Agriculture - Region 1

Well that's a little about me... Happy to meet you all...

Hiya S
frow.gif
Good to see ya over here

welcome-byc.gif

Hi Sandshaven! Nice to see you here. I come here as often as I can to check out the posts on guinea fowl. I learn from reading what others have to say, and I try to answer a question if I think I can help. Almost 14 years of raising guineas has to account for something.

Hi Barbara... Nice to see you also. I just found this place and I think I like it. I'm not sure how this site totally works. I just found your post... lol

I am new to guineas and I found your intro amazing! Therapy Birds? I have read so much lately about how wild they are and not really able to "tame" them. It was disappointing. After reading Gardening with Guinea's I was hopeful I could tame them. This is a nice surprise and unbelievable. How do they work for you and how did you train them? Do you have a website or blog or other I can read about your efforts/success?

VermontTex

Hi Vermont Tex...
Welcome to the wonderful adventure of guineas and nice to meet you.
Yes, We have 2 flocks of registered therapy birds. And they are amazing...
I will be the first to admit they are wild and hard to tame for some. But I have 28 birds that will prove them all different.
I am not saying that they listen like my dogs. But I can pet them.. I can touch feet, lift wings...
They are all trained to come to the ring of bells. And they can be herded with no problem.