Newbie Advice

Thetimbrcruiser

Hatching
May 8, 2016
Hello all, I'm a newbie to the chicken scene. Not new to the farming or livestock, just chickens. Grew up on my grandparents cattle farm, where we raised several hundred head. I've been around chickens plenty throughout my life, I've just never had the responsibility of caring for them. Our cattle farm is no longer actively operating, and I have interest in converting one our barns, used to store square bales, into a chicken coop. I'd like to start small initially, and I'm looking for some advice as to whether or not this barn is feasible for a coop. I will try to upload some pictures of the barn when I get a chance. The barn itself is rather large, rough guesstimate in size would be 200' long by about 60' wide and the ceiling roughly 30' at the peak. Our old catch pen is attached to the barn, and I thought it would make a great day area for the chickens, after the appropriate modifications. My question is, what is the appropriate amount of space I should use in the barn(initially), for say 10 chickens and 1 rooster. My next question is, is my barn acceptable; the barn is open on both ends. Now I know the designated area will need to be fenced off appropriately to prevent predation, but is it ok for the coop to be ventilated like this(I live in North MS, so our winters tend to be mild)?

Welcome to BYC -- ventilation is NEVER bad, especially given your location, as chickens are much more equipped for dealing with cold than they are heat. Given the mild nature of your winters I think you are starting out with a wonderful base structure for your venture. If you find you encounter too much draft you can always wall in part of the interior if needed.