One of my hens keeps attacking me!

dpaulson

Hatching
5 Years
Nov 14, 2014
Canton, Georgia
I am VERY new to backyard chickens, but I have 8 hens, 4 Golden Comets and 4 Buff Orbingtons...they just started laying eggs last week and are all brown, so I'm not sure who is laying and who is not.

However, I have noticed more aggressive behavior from my Golden Comets since they start laying and I just went out to check their water and one of the girls went after my legs and actually bit my foot! I'm getting more and more anxious about them, and I don't want to, but I don't understand the behavior. They used to be so sweet!

Any advice? Thank you!

Dawn

Is she always aggressive? Are all of the girls doing it or just the one? It could be possible that she has gone broody and your close to her best but don't know it

All of my comets look the same, but I have had one who is always "bossy", but they just started laying eggs last week, so I was kind of wondering if maybe they were upset with me for removing their eggs....makes me so sad....

The only time I have had a chicken mad at me for gathering eggs was when she was broody. When they are broody they want to protect their eggs. I bet you that you have 1 hen that has gone broody and sees you as athreat

Welcome to BYC!
I would suggest you take your phone and video your next trip out (or have someone do it for you) so you can show us just what the bird is doing. I find it helpful to see the bird in action as what one person envisions in reading "attack" and what may actually be happening can vary quite a bit. Being able to see both your actions and hers will be helpful.

Thank you! I will have my husband film me the next time I go to check water and such. I went out and lunch and gave them a bowl of oatmeal (in the yard) and they were all fine. No one came near me. Have a feeling its because I'm getting "too close" to the coop!