Orpington vs Australorp

bluefrog87

Chirping
6 Years
Nov 17, 2013
Dallas, Tx
I am new to chickens and I am trying to do my homework on which chicken breed would be right for me.

My flock would only be 3-4 birds and not much room for growth. I would prefer to keep only 1 breed. These birds would be in a backyard coop with run. I need a breed that doesn't make much noise (about the same level of a barking dog).

I need a docile breed. My biggest purpose for the birds is eggs. I want roughly a half a dozen to a dozen large eggs a week. I live in a climate where cold and hot weather is a factor. I also want a common chicken.

I have met someone with a Buff Orpington and I do like the birds personality but also curious if the Australorp would be a better bird for climate

Here's the thing: A 6 bird coop by whose definition? I see "6 bird coops" for sale that I'd not even keep 2 birds in. But the sellers claim you can keep 6 in it!

I think you should get Americanas there very sweet an produce XL to XXL eggs each hen will give you around 1 egg every day when its cold put a heating lamp by the nesting boxes if you want them to lay in cold weather . by the way
welcome-byc.gif

Well I'm not interested in the chickens leaving the run because they become dog food. I'm looking for chickens that lay large/XL brown eggs, bears confinement (in coop w/ run appropriate size for chicken), and bears cold temp (below freezing) as well as heat temp (100+), and if I need to do something with them it's like dealing a really laid back chill chicken. To be honest, I'm in it for the eggs and tasty food.

I've seen buff orpingtons and like the personality/size and laying rate. The chill, doesn't run from me if I need to handle it, and doesn't fly or need a lot of maintenance to maintain that.

I have not seen Australorp and do not know if they are similar.