WeTheWeys

Chirping
Jul 12, 2018
Hi everyone! I am brand new here so I am still figuring it all out. I have so many questions as I prepare for my little babies!

Tomorrow I am receiving my duck eggs. I have a Janoel 12 incubator and I am pretty sure the tray is not turning like it is supposed to, so perhaps I will just manually rotate the eggs. Is this okay? I have been researching and reading countless books and threads for the past three years so that I could be ready when it was time for my ducks, but I still am nervous and feel unprepared! I have everything all ready, but I am so nervous for my little guys!

I will be getting ten eggs. I have read that you are not supposed to candle every day (I know you don't see anything until about day 7 anyways) because you let a lot of the heat and humidity out of the incubator, but if I am manually turning my eggs five times a day, wont even more heat and humidity escape?

If you have tips on how you mark your eggs to keep track of turning, please let me know! If I choose to turn them manually, will I still need my egg tray in the incubator or will they be okay without it?

I am so SO paranoid that nobody will hatch or that someone will explode and contaminate the others... Any tell tale signs? Other than the odor... If a duck egg is not fertile or dies in development, how long will I have to remove it before it explodes? Also, how many days into the incubation period would I need to start worrying about exploding eggs?

Thanks!!!

I'm not experienced in hatching duck eggs but just a few things I've read. Those with more experience will be responding .... @WVduckchick @BantyChooks @oldhenlikesdogs

How many eggs are you getting? The reason I ask is I had a Janoel 12, it's not very big, says 9 chicken eggs and duck eggs are bigger.
Are they shipped eggs? If so set them in an egg carton, pointy side down for at least 12 hrs so the air cells have time to settle in.