Quail bumblefoot- quail newbie

Mlmoore1987

Hatching
Jul 18, 2019
Hello. I'm new to owning both chickens and quails. So far so good. BUT...im pretty sure one of my quails has bumblefoot. (Photos below)

I know you basically treat the same as chicken bumblefoot. However, I've never had to deal with chicken bumblefoot either. I've watched lots of videos ave read tons of articles online but it seems like mixed information.

Can someone PLEASE walk me thru every step. I ask this only because...I'm super nervous.. their legs/feet are so tiny. But i don't think i can get around have to cut it out. Ahhh i don't think i can do it. Lol. Someone please help. Id really appreciate any advice i can get.

PS- I've already got her seperated into a cage with just pine shavings instead of hardware cloth.
KIMG01841(1).jpg
20191005_215633.jpg

Hello. I'm new to owning both chickens and quails. So far so good. BUT...im pretty sure one of my quails has bumblefoot. (Photos below)

I know you basically treat the same as chicken bumblefoot. However, I've never had to deal with chicken bumblefoot either. I've watched lots of videos ave read tons of articles online but it seems like mixed information.

Can someone PLEASE walk me thru every step. I ask this only because...I'm super nervous.. their legs/feet are so tiny. But i don't think i can get around have to cut it out. Ahhh i don't think i can do it. Lol. Someone please help. Id really appreciate any advice i can get.

PS- I've already got her seperated into a cage with just pine shavings instead of hardware cloth.View attachment 1926961 View attachment 1926971

I'm finishing up with a case of bumblefoot on my hen. She had it on both feet though. I took her to my vet to do it since I was unsure like you are, and he talked/showed me through the whole thing so I can take care of it next time. :rolleyes: