Question regarding hens and roos

chknskratch

In the Brooder
5 Years
Jul 15, 2014
Eastern TN
I have 5 month old chickens, should I be able to tell which ones are hens and which ones are roosters by now? Forgive my ignorance to the matter but I am new at this! :idunno

In the meanwhile I hope this helps.

Roos by this point should have pointy saddle and hackle feathers. For example, on my roo, right before his tail are long pointy golden-blue saddle feathers, they can be any color, but this is where they are located, females will have rounded feathers that match the rest of the body feathers.
Males also have pointy hackle feathers which is located on the neck. Which on my roo, is also golden colored.

Some roosters will also get a dark red patch of glossy feathers on the wing, which my rooster also has.
(Don't mind his crest(head feathers) is half missing, other roosters were pulling them out until we got rid of them)

Here is a pullet to compare to, rounded saddle feathers, no pointed hackle feathers, and no dark red patches on the wings.

Last edited:
In the meanwhile I hope this helps. Roos by this point should have pointy saddle and hackle feathers. For example, on my roo, right before his tail are long pointy golden-blue saddle feathers, they can be any color, but this is where they are located, females will have rounded feathers that match the rest of the body feathers. Males also have pointy hackle feathers which is located on the neck. Which on my roo, is also golden colored. Some roosters will also get a dark red patch of glossy feathers on the wing, which my rooster also has. (Don't mind his crest(head feathers) is half missing, other roosters were pulling them out until we got rid of them) Here is a pullet to compare to, rounded saddle feathers, no pointed hackle feathers, and no dark red patches on the wings.
Thanks for the info, that does help! Here are a few that I am just not too sure about, the other ones have all the signs of a rooster or hens.