Raising Chicks from Pipping

Mercibelle

Chirping
Jun 10, 2022
Virginia
I have a hen (EE) who went broody while my wife and I were away for her baby shower that happened over the weekend (27 Apr - 1 May) . When we got back she had a clutch of approximately 5 eggs. We were thinking of removing them, however, wifey wanted chicks and we just so happen to have a Roo so we let her do her thing. Every so often after this I noticed that our hen would keep accumulating eggs, eventually equaling about 7in total. I eventually marked them so I would be able to gather extras that she would snatch and keep her clutch to a manageable size (should have probably thought of that sooner, but this is my first time having a broody hen and letting her incubate.)

Butter Chicken, our broody lady was an excellent mama during incubation, sitting and remaining in the coop to ensure proper warmth for the eggs. She was so dedicated I would actually have to remove her in the mornings to ensure that she was eating and getting water and pooping. (I had heard broody's poops are huge and smell terrible, but seeing and smelling is believing. Dear god.) She'd stay off the eggs for about 5 mins in total then would return to the brooder box to resume her everyday incubation activities.

I'm probably a horrible chicken mom, but I honestly let Butter do her own thing. It wasn't until much later that I learned that I needed to candle eggs to check progress. I figured that hens and chickens have been doing this for centuries without my help so therefore she would know what to do. And I was correct....sort of.