Red Golden Pheasant

reallemons1

Songster
12 Years
Mar 31, 2008
Gloucester, VA
I have a pair of yearling Red Goldens. The hen laid a clutch of eggs and now is busy setting. I know they are fertile because we found one broken and it had a small chick in it. YEA. They are in a pen that is about 12'x12'. Should I take the male out so he don't hurt the chicks when they hatch or will he okay with them? I'm new to pheasants and don't know much about their behaviour. Thanks!

Quote:
You'll be fine with the male in with the hen & chicks. Many male pheasant species will help the female with the rearing of the chicks and it is awesome to watch the family foraging together - a natural behavior that has since been lost in many captive pheasants. Congrats!!

Dan

I'm playing it by ear... If they seem okay with her they stay, if not I'll take them. I am want to learn their natural behaviour so I will better know how to brood them.

Quote:
Let the hen do it, that's the best part!!

Take precautions in the aviary before the chicks hatch - ensure the water pan is small or contains objects to prevent the chicks from drowning; double check your perimeter wire, make sure you some type of barrier to keep the chicks from wandering off or add some hardware cloth. Pheasant chicks are quite small and can slip through 1" mesh quite easily (and to an awaiting predator). I have allowed many hen pheasants & francolins to rear their own families over the years and have made some of these mistakes!! Simple corrections make for a rewarding experience.

Dan

I'd like to try to build a flight pen/pheasant run myself......shouldn't be too hard, I know. Any recommendations, links, on-line tutorials to help someone who can barely drive a straight nail?

Quote: