Runny nose and goopy eye *and now confused*

Torch404

Songster
11 Years
Jan 15, 2009
Northern Cali
I have three pullets all 5-6 months old. They have all been active and healthy. This is my first time with checkens so I easily could have missed some signs of distress. One of my birds has had a runny nose. it was a clear discharge almost looked just like water coming out of the nostril. This has been going for a couple of days. Seems to be a little more "snot" at night then durring the day.

I might have seen my other bird with a runny nose a day or so ago but have not seen any sign of problems since then. Last night I went to close up the coop and Lefty who's had the runny nose shook her head and she had enough snot that mucus flung out. She had one eye covered with the same clear mucus.

This morning the eye is better but nose is still runny. I have not found anything online that sounds like that. Help. I'm most likely going to get a round of antibiotics at the feed store durring my lunch.

Any idea what it is? suggestions on how to treat?

Last edited:
sounds like a CRD sorry are these your only birds? if not practice biosecurity with other flock. Antibiotics will treat the symptoms but from what I have read th birds will always be carriers. ot to be mean but a mass culling is one option and then a good sanatizing to kill the bacteria or what ever it is. The other is treating, but many CRD can be passed down in the egg, and can infect other flocks easily. Ultimately it is your decision but from what I have read it is pretty bad.

At the very least if you treat and keep your flock do not sell them to anyone who is not aware that they have this. If one dies you an have a necropsey done to see what strain they have and if it is a really bad one or not.

where did you get the birds? what have they been in contact with?

look up MG and CRD in the searches and you will see what I mean.