Scalped by other Hens - Integration gone wrong :(

MeatyCluckers

Chirping
May 22, 2022
My 3 month old pullet made a poor calculation while trying to fly away from one of the older hens got pinned down by the group and scalped - it happened so quickly that by the time I ran outside to intervene the damage was done. The back of her head down to her neck is completely bare. I washed her and applied gauze to stop bleeding, then sprayed with Vetericyn and applied neosporin. She is safely indoors in a dog crate in a quiet room of my house with food and water. She has eaten and had water, but she is mostly just snoozing/snuggling me/standing. She can walk. Her eyes are fine.

This is my very first time with a chicken injury beyond a slightly bloody comb and I'm heartsick that it had to happen to my sweet Trashley, who is the gentlest chicken in the whole world and didn't even try to fight back or defend herself. I will include a photo below but please know it is graphic. This is a couple hours after the attack, with the neosporin applied.

The earliest vet appointment I could get was Saturday (it is Tuesday at time of post). I'm hoping for more advice in the meantime for how best to care for her - I have read many threads and articles and I think I'm doing what's right, but I'm so nervous.
trashley head wound.jpg

your doing things right. did you do a see no touch before intros?
Yes. She has been in an extension of the run that the big hens are in for three weeks. They have also supervised free ranged together briefly (although there wasn't a ton of contact as she preferred to stay close by her run/coop while the big girls explore further). This was in the morning after the first night they shared a coop (which was peaceful, until she tried to flap away and they all mobbed her).